The first (of many).

I got rejected today.

Back in December, I applied for a couple of long-term writing residencies/fellowships. I heard from Phillips Exeter Academy today, which was the one I really, really wanted, since it was an ideal setup for me and my family. I guess they received over 300 submissions this year; that’s twice the number I’d anticipated. I was hoping to at least get short-listed. No dice there, either. 

Of course I’m sad about it. While part of me knew I wouldn’t get it my first time out, the rest of me was quite hopeful, right up to the moment earlier today when I dropped everything I was carrying and tore open the letter, on the sidewalk in front of my house. But I know that rejections are as much a part of this writing life as the acceptances and publications; after all, how can we ever improve if we are accepted every time we submit?

Today I got my first rejection letter; it means I’m working. It means I’m trying to be better. It means I’m sending out pieces of myself to be judged. And that’s brave. To the first of many, and to my new motto:


Forty-five: make them pay at the polls.

Here are the forty-five senators who shot down the gun control bill yesterday, and links to their contact information. Let’s show them what a well-organized majority can do.

I didn’t see this information all together anywhere yet and figured it was the least that I could do. Please share and contact.

  1. Sen. Lamar Alexander (R-TN)
  2. Sen. Kelly Ayotte (R-NH)
  3. Sen. John Barrasso (R-WY)
  4. Sen. Max Baucus (D-MT)
  5. Sen. Mark Begich (D-AK)
  6. Sen. Roy Blunt (R-MO)
  7. Sen. John Boozman (R-AR)
  8. Sen. Richard Burr (R-NC)
  9. Sen. Saxby Chambliss (R-GA)
  10. Sen. Dan Coats (R-IN)
  11. Sen. Tom Coburn (R-OK)
  12. Sen. Thad Cochran (R-MS)
  13. Sen. Bob Corker (R-TN)
  14. Sen. John Cornyn (R-TX)
  15. Sen. Michael Crapo (R-ID)
  16. Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX)
  17. Sen. Mike Enzi (R-WY)
  18. Sen. Deb Fischer (R-NE)
  19. Sen. Jeff Flake (R-AZ)
  20. Sen. Lindsey Graham (R-SC)
  21. Sen. Charles Grassley (R-IA)
  22. Sen. Orrin Hatch (R-UT)
  23. Sen. Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND)
  24. Sen. Dean Heller (R-NV)
  25. Sen. John Hoeven (R-ND)
  26. Sen. James Inhofe (R-OK)
  27. Sen. Johnny Isakson (R-GA)
  28. Sen. Mike Johanns (R-NE)
  29. Sen. Ron Johnson (R-WI)
  30. Sen. Mike Lee (R-UT)
  31. Sen. Mitch McConnell (R-KY)
  32. Sen. Jerry Moran (R-KS)
  33. Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)
  34. Sen. Rand Paul (R-KY)
  35. Sen. Rob Portman (R-OH)
  36. Sen. Mark Pryor (D-AR)
  37. Sen. James Risch (R-ID)
  38. Sen. Pat Roberts (R-KS)
  39. Sen. Marco Rubio (R-FL)
  40. Sen. Tim Scott (R-SC)
  41. Sen. Jeff Sessions (R-AL)
  42. Sen. Richard Shelby (R-AL)
  43. Sen. John Thune (R-SD)
  44. Sen. David Vitter (R-LA)
  45. Sen. Roger Wicker (R-MS)

(Source for senator names: MSNBC)

I may have more to say on this later, but I need to organize my thoughts. This is a good place for all of us to start.

Our hearts are broken; our spirits are not. 

~ From the Sandy Hook Promise